Getting Crafty

Summer is finally on it’s way to a town near you! I can’t wait to feel the heat of the sun on my skin and spend some quality time outside, after all, isn’t that what summer is all about? Summer is also a time where wearing homemade clothing is more prominant. Peolpe tye-dye shirts or make cut off shorts to wear in the summer months. I enjoy making things so I’ve decided to make a shirt for the summer. Some of you have already seen the type of shirt I’m about to make, but for those of you that haven’t I will be happy to be the one who introduces it to you. I have never made one of these shirts before so I’m no expert (I don’t even know what these shirts are called. I think I’ll call it the Fringe T-Shirt.) but I’m sure there are many different ways to do it. This is just my version so follow along if you please. If it makes you feel any better, my shirt turned out pretty darn good.

Materials you will need:

  • t-shirt (any color)
  • fabric scissors
  • pony beads (any color)

How to Make It:

#1 Cut the neck of your shirt to your desired shape. This step is optional. You may leave your shirt the way it is. My shirt is black and I cut it so it has a scoop neckline.

#2 Shorten the sleeves. This step is optional as well. I left mine alone.

#3 Cut vertical strips that are one centimeter in width all the way around the bottom of your shirt at one length.  When all strips are cut, cut off the bottom hem of the shirt. (I left the hem on until after the strips were cut because it made it easier to keep my strips the same width) You can make these strips as long or as short as you want. Make sure you make your strips a little longer than you want so you can tie knots later. My strips are about 5 inches long and start just under my bellybutton. I wanted to show a bit of skin but not too much.

#4 Once your strips are cut, you can place beads on the strips and tie the ends with knots so the beads won’t come off. I made a pattern with my beads since I had several colors to choose from and placed 6 beads on each strip. You can do whatever you would like here and the number of beads may depend on how long your strips are.

#5 Put your shirt on, go out, and show off what you have just created! I think these shirts are fun and that’s what makes them perfect for summer.

Leave a Reply

