The Healthy Alternative

Over the winter I’ve realized that I have gained some weight. It’s not like I’m fat of anything but there is a little extra chub. I do not appreciate this extra chub. I want to get rid of it right now so I decided to do some more exercising. I don’t go to the gym or anything, I just do a few things at my house to help tone that extra chub. Exercising helps but the reason that the chub got there in the first place was mainly my choice of food. I eat a lot. It’s not a secret. I admit it. I actually love to eat because food is so good. It makes me happy, believe it or not. You see my problem. I love to eat and as a consequence to that I gain extra chub. Now I need to change what goes in my body and how much of it. Out with the old and in with the new. Out with the junk and in with the health. I’ve decided to share some of my healthy alternatives with you in the hopes that you will be inspired to eat healthier or maybe just be introduced to a new snack idea.

#1 Banana Dogs

These treats are perfect for snacks. They are large enough to hold you over until meal time and they contain three different food groups. All you need is a banana, peanut butter, and a whole wheat tortilla. Spread the peanut butter so that it covers one side of the tortilla. You can add as much or as little as you please. Next peal the banana and lay it on one side of the tortilla. Roll it up and you are ready to go. They only take a few minutes to make so you can whip it up quick and be on your way.

#2 Ants on a Log

You have probably already heard of this snack but it a good one. You can’t go wrong with a classic. Cut up some celery into 2 inch pieces and fill it with peanut butter. Place some raisins in top and then you’re done. I like this snack because it has peanut butter. Anything with peanut butter is pretty much great. I also like it because there are different food groups. The peanut butter gives you protein. The celery is your vegetable and the raisins are your fruit. It’s a dried up fruit but a fruit none the less.

#3 Deli Roll

This one is easy as well. Roll a piece of deli meat, whether it be turkey, ham, or roast beef, whatever is your favorite, a piece of low-fat cheese, and a piece of lettuce into a tube. That’s it. Now you have a simple version of a sub sandwich.

There are lots of other things that you could eat like nuts, yogurt, or fruit salad. These are just a few of my snack ideas to help you in your quest to loose chub just like me. So next time you reach for the potato chips, stop and think about these ideas. It could be the difference between losing the chub or not losing the chub. The choice is yours.

Leave a Reply

