It’s Too Late to Apologize. Or is it?

We’ve all heard the song “Apologize” by One Republic. The song is talking about a back and forth relationship where the girl always does stuff that she needs to apologize for. The guy is tired of her apologies and says it’s too late to apologize. It seems pretty logical to feel this way, but I think apologies are never too late to give. The guy might not appreciate the apology until a lot later in life but an apology is an apology. Now, if she was going around doing this and that every week and giving all these apologies, then I would never forgive her because I wouldn’t believe that her apologies were sincere. But still, apologies are always welcome in my book. I might not believe it but at least you tried right? Well the other day I got an apology. I was not expecting it at all because we were in the middle of class. He said something to me, I turned around and looked at him, and then there it was. He only said a few words but somehow it made me feel a lot better. I knew that he was being sincere. I could see it on his face and hear it in his voice. It was just a short apology, nothing longwinded, but it made the difference. I think the thing that made it even better was the fact that I wasn’t waiting for him to apologize. I didn’t lie in bed at night and think about how he hasn’t apologized and when he would finally do it. The apologogy was unexpected and sincere. I think those are two key things that make an apology easy to accept.

A word of advice for all of you out there: apologize to someone that you’ve been meaning to apologize to but haven’t because you thought it was too late. I’m telling you, they will most likely appreciate it. If they don’t then that’s their problem. You did your best to fix it and chances are, you will feel a lot better.

Leave a Reply

