Pecan Pie Bars

Maybe I’m crazy, but I don’t really like nuts. Hey now, get your mind out of the gutter! We are talking about food here. This is not that kind of blog. Anyway……I mainly like peanuts and cashews, otherwise I don’t like nuts. I’m the type of person who doesn’t care for nuts in her cookies or brownies. I just don’t like the added crunch that nuts give to my cookies or brownies. I like them smooth. There happens to be one exception and it goes by the name of Pecan Pie Bars. I don’t understand how these bars taste so good because they are made of nuts but man they are delicious! Like OH MY GOODNESS! I could have eaten the whole pan but I had to hold back the urge. They are very easy to prepare and the recipe is provided below so I encourage you to make them. The crust is soft, buttery, and a little crumbly but not too crumbly that it makes a huge mess. The corn syrup mixture seeps into the crust and kind of makes this gooey middle layer that is wonderful and then the pecans sit on top. I think everyone would like this dessert, even if you don’t like nuts. I don’t really like nuts and I LOVE these bars. So what are you waiting for?! Go make them already!

Ingredients:

Crust:

2 + 1/2 cups of flour

1/2 cup of sugar

1 cup of margarine

1/2 teaspoon of salt

Filling:

4 eggs

1 + 1/2 cups of Karo light or dark (I use light)

1 + 1/2 cups of sugar

1 + 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla

3 Tablespoons of melted margarine

2 + 1/2 cups of chopped pecans (small pieces)

Directions:

Grease bottom and sides of a 15 x 10 x 1 inch baking pan. Prepare crust in a large bowl by mixing together flour, sugar, margarine, and salt until it resembles course crumbs. Press the mixture into the pan and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. For the filling, mix the eggs, corn syrup, sugar, margarine, and vanilla. Stir in the pecans and spread over the hot crust. Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until set. It makes about 48 bars.

Leave a Reply

