You say ice cream. I say gelato?

Ice cream. It’s such a wonderful invention. I love eating ice cream. Wait a minute. Do I love ice cream? Or was that gelato? Oh gosh, what’s the difference?!? I’m sure lots of people have wondered about this. I don’t know what the difference is. If you are anything like me you can’t even tell the difference. And then there is soft serve and custard and frozen yogurt. What is with all these “different” things? They all taste delicious to me and frankly I can barely tell the difference. Now I’m curious about what the actual differences are. Let’s have a look shall we?

I’ll admit that I pretty much call all of the above frozen concoctions ice cream but I guess you could say that I am incorrect. Ice cream is made out of butterfat, nonfat milk solids, sugar and flavoring. Gelatin and gum are added to help make the smooth texture. The ingredients are whipped together in the freezer so it becomes filled with air to give its light, soft feel. Soft serve is basically the same th but with more air. I enjoy going to Cold Stone to get ice cream. They have some very tasty flavors such as Cake Batter. That one is my favorite. You also can’t go wrong with Blue Bunny’s Peanut Butter Panic.

Gelato is made from egg yolks, sugar, and milk. The mixture is heated and then cooled. It goes through this process and is then placed in the freezer where it is stirred to incorporate air and to give it its smooth texture. Gelato is more dense than ice cream. I haven’t had much gelato but I will say that Talenti has a delicious Caramel Cookie Crunch. I have some in the freezer right now and I’ve sort of hidden it so no one can have any besides me. I know that’s selfish but if only you knew what it tasted like……yum. There is one thing that I have noticed about gelato and that is the fact that it tastes more expensive. I don’t know how to explain what I actually mean by that, but it makes sense to me. Maybe you know what I’m getting at. It turns out that gelato is a little more expensive as well, but maybe that’s just those certain brands.

Frozen custard is very dense compared to the others. It has only about 20% air. It also contains 1.4% egg yolk,  10% milk fat, sugar, and cream. I love Culver’s frozen custard and there used to be a little custard shop that was very good as well but it closed. The was a sad day when I found out it was gone.

Hopefully that helped  you determine some differences between these frozen treats. Now I’m hungry from all this talking about ice cream and stuff. I think I’ll go sneak some of that gelato now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

