Marchesa

Talk about gorgeous!! Like oh my gosh! Marchesa has the most beautiful gowns on the planet. I wish my closet was connected to the Marchesa design room. I could walk in and grab the latest fashions and look amazing. Let’s be honest here. I already look amazing but I’d look even more amazing. Just kidding!! I am totally kidding. I am NOT full of myself at all. I’m actually practically empty of myself. Anyway, I started this post to talk about Marchesa, not me, so let’s carry on, shall we?

Marchesa was co-founded by Georgina Chapman and Keren Craig in 2004. Chapman uses her design skills to make the shape of the clothing while Craig uses her art skills to embellish and decorate. Marchesa has vintage silhouettes with a modern twist. The brand is inspired by and named after a European style icon named Marchesa Luisa Casati. Casati came from a wealthy family and inherited a large amount of money. She married and had one child. Her marriage limited her style so he lived apart from her husband. This arrangement led Casati to have many lovers. She was vastly different from most people in Europe. She set fashion trends and is even known to have worn live snakes as jewelry. She even had pet cheetahs that she walked on leashes and gold leafed servants. It’s no wonder why Chapman and Craig chose Casati as their inspiration. Casati knew how to be different in fashion and other aspects of her life. The will to be different is what every designer wants or even needs. If their clothes don’t stand out then who will buy them? Another reason Casati is a good muse for the Marchesa brand is she lived in a time were the style of clothes is now considered vintage. That gives Marchesa a place to pull their vintage flare.

  

Now for th fun part! Looking at some of the beautiful gowns made by Chapman and Craig.

     Olivia Wilde diamante Marchesa gown

^^^I love this dress soooo much!! I would wear it every day of my life. It is completely gorgeous! I am dying.

Leave a Reply

