You Can’t Always Get What You Want

There has been a reocurring theme in my life lately and I think that it is sigificant enough to share it with you. I’m positive that you have had to come to terms with situations similar to mine and move on in your life and hope for the best.

Exhibit A: For Christmas and for a long time before that, I wanted a kitten. Yes, I have a cat. I love him dearly and I find him utterly adorable, but he isn’t the most playful or cuddly of cats. I want a kitten AND a cat. I want a little buddy who wants to cuddle and wants my almost constant attention. I say almost constant attention because I am very busy with school work and can’t afford to be interrupted too much. I wouldn’t get anything done if I was. I never really expected to get a kitten for Christmas, but there was always that slight hope that my parents would give in or that they were trying to make me think that I wasn’t going to get a kitten so then I’d be really surprised when I actually did get one. Well, turns out, as you’ve probably guessed, I didn’t get a kitten. Of course I was disappointed, but not too disappointed since I wasn’t planning on actually receiving a sweet little kitten for Christmas.

Exhibit B: I have this orchestra concert coming up next weekend and I have to audition for my chair. I was thinking that I could really work hard and get that music down pat so I could rock my audition and get a great placement in the orchestra. To my disadvantage and discomfort, I developed tendonitis. My wrists get tired and sore and it hurts me plays a lot. This has affected how much I have been practicing and therefore I do not believe I will get as good of a chair as I had hoped. I know what you are probably thinking. “She shouldn’t think like that. She should be more confident. If she thinks like that she will never do as well as she wants.” Well yes you are partly right, but in this case I am more right. I needed to practice a lot and I didn’t so that’s pretty much that. I’ll still try my hardest of course and hope for the best. Wish me luck!

Exhibit C: I wanted to hang out with my friends this weekend. I asked them a whole week ahead of time to make sur they had no prior plans. They all were free enough that my plans would work. As the day got closer and closer I asked one of my friends who had a conflict with his dad if he was able to go. He replied saying that he would work on convincing his dad to let him go. The day finally rolled around and my friend was still trying to convince his dad. It soon became clear to me that these plans were not going to happen. I was seriously disappointed, especially because I had been planning this day for a week. You might be wondering why I just didn’t go without him. Well I didn’t want to go without him and some other things didn’t play out quite right and my plans were ruined.

These may be somewhat insignificant examples, but not to me. These things were/are important to me. I just have to take it all in and sing just as The Rolling Stones sang, “You can’t always get what you want.”

Leave a Reply

