Food? Food? Where art thou food?

I don’t know about you, but I love food. I mean, I can’t go through the day without it. There is always food at my house and I’m lucky. Many people across the globe don’t get enough food to eat and are going hungry.

Today, when I was at church, we had a guest pastor. He works with Food for the Poor, an organization that works to provide food for starving people around the world. His sermon really made me realize that I am very wealthy. I have a structurely sound home, clean water, and food in my kitchen. I think what really made his sermon speak to people was the picture of a little girl who was hungry. Her hair was changing color at her hairline due to malnutrition. He asked us the question, “What did you have for breakfast this morning?” I thought, Mmmm, Coco Puffs. Then he asked us, “What do you think she had for breakfast the day this picture was taken?” I knew the answer. Nothing. I thought of how hungry I would have been if I hadn’t eaten those Coco Puffs and how I wouldn’t feel anywhere near as hungry as that little girl. I also thought of how she most likely never had Coco Puffs in her life and that made me sad.

The pastor made a good point by saying that no child deserves to be hungry and that there is plenty of food to feed them. He said that it only costs $21.00 to feed 350 people in his organization. He mentioned that $21.00 could buy brunch for 3 people in the U.S. That really amazed me even more. The amount of money we would normally spend to feed 3 people could feed 350 people somewhere else in the world.

Here are some facts that I think might blow your mind. About 925 million people don’t get enough food to eat. 2.6 million children die each year because of malnutrition. Every 5 seconds a child dies of hunger related dieseases. 98% of of undernourished people live in developing countries and 50% of pregnant women in those countries don’t get the care they need resulting in 300,000 deaths per year. About 1.7 billion people, or 25% of the world, don’t have access to clean water. 12% of the world’s population uses 85% of the world’s water. (www.thp.org)

These facts don’t seem right to me. How can there be that many people struggling to get food and water? That is just way too many people. We Americans need to step up and take action. We need to donate for the greater good of our world’s people. They need us and we shouldn’t stand by and watch them suffer. I challenge you to donate and help a person in need. Please visit the Food for the Poor website.

Leave a Reply

